You want to be able to restore an image without having to join the domain again
This happens with all kind of imaging software (e.g. ghost) and is a normal behaviour
A workstation belonging to a domain, does change the computer account password of the local computer every 30 days by default. When your image is older and is restored, you will not be able to logon to the domain. You can change this behaviour by changing the registry.
The value can be entered in days. The default is 30 and can be from 1 till 1000000.
You can fully disable this changing of the computer account password with the DisablePasswordChange entry and setting it to 1. (setting it to 0 activated it) This entry does not exist by default and has to be added if wanted. Please note that the changing of the password is a security feature.
With the entry RefusePasswordChange on all your domain controllers, you can deactivate this feature for the entire domain.
About the Author
Wim Peeters is electronics engineer with an additional master in IT and over 30 years of experience including time spent in support, development, consulting, training and database administration. Wim has worked with SQL Server since version 6.5. He has developed in C/C++, Java and C# on Windows and Linux in different European countries and different European languages. He writes knowledge base articles to solve IT problems and publishes them on the Lubby Knowledge Platform where he is one of the most important contributors and the main developer.